Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Game of Thrones - Peabody Awards: Winners Announced

Source: Peabody [follow link for complete list of winners]

Game of Thrones 5


The 71st Annual Peabody Awards winners were announced on April 4, 2012.

Source: Peabody

Among prizes for electronic media – radio awards, television awards, interactive and new media awards – THE GEORGE FOSTER PEABODY AWARDS are considered the most prestigious. Founded in 1940, the Peabody is the also the oldest electronic media award in the world, recognizing excellence, distinguished achievement, and meritorious public service. The first radio awards were presented in 1941, for work completed in 1940. The first television awards were presented in 1948, the first cable television awards in 1981, and the first web site awards in 2003. Honoring content from large broadcast networks to tiny online outlets, from popular entertainment programs to independently produced documentaries, and all types in between, the Peabody Awards seek out “excellence on its own terms.” The awards are administered by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Sir Patrick Stewart, Peabody Award-winning star of stage and screen, Shakespeare plays and science-fiction blockbusters, will be the host of the 71st Annual George Foster Peabody Awards ceremony on Monday, May 21, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

For Information and Tickets:
Sandy Friedman
(917) 281-4718

Winners include:

Game of Thrones (HBO)

Bighead, Littlehead, 360 Television, Grok and Generator Productions in association with HBO Entertainment

Adapted from dark-age fantasy books by George R.R. Martin, the series immerses viewers in a multilayered, distinctly imagined world of mysticism and earthiness, fidelity and deceit, wonder and mayhem...

Game of Thrones season two airs Sunday at 9/8C on HBO.

No comments:

Post a Comment